SCT 36th Annual Meeting (2015)

ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA, USA - May 17-20, 2015

The 36th Annual Meeting, held May 17 - 20, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City in Arlington, VA, offered attendees an engaging conference program unique networking opportunities among leading researchers and rising stars of the international clinical trials community.

Many thanks to 2015 Program Committee, led by Domenic J. Reda and Leslie Ain McClure, for organizing yet another successful meeting full of outstanding invited and contributed oral and poster sessions. Ten pre-conference workshops offered attendees valuable educational opportunities in diverse areas of clinical trials research and practice - for this we thank the dedicated efforts of the 2015 Education Committee led by Paul G. Wakim and Li Chen.

SCT is very grateful for the exemplary plenary sessions presented by distinguished leaders of the international clinical trials community. The President's invited speakers were Dr. James Neaton of the University of Minnesota and Dr. Michael Lauer of the National Institute of Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. On Monday, May 18, Dr. Neaton presented the Curtis Meinert Lecture on "International Trials and Tribulations." Considering KyungMann Kim's wish as SCT President to see the SCT become more international and global in its scope and reach and the global implications of outbreaks of infectious diseases such as Ebola, Dr. Neaton's several decades of experience in organizing and conducting international clinical trials provided valuable insight into such trials. On Wednesday, May 20, Dr. Lauer presented the Founders Lecture on "A Future for Clinical Trials? An NIH Perspective." Dr. Lauer's talk offered those of us on the receiving end of the federal funding some insight into the future of clinical trials as the NIH sees it.

A special plenary session featured a presentation by The PARAMEDIC study team, who was honored by SCT as the 2014 Trial of the Year. In addition, SCT extends a special recognition to the 2015 Thomas C. Chalmers Student Scholarship Winner Moisés Gómez-Mateu, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, and the 2015 Sylvan Green Award Winner Zhiying You, MD, PhD, Michigan State University.

Final Program Book »
Business Session Minutes »
View flickr photo slideshow from the 2015 meeting »


Watch Members-Only Video!  Welcome - SCT President, KyungMann Kim KyungMann Kim 00:08:26
Watch Members-Only Video! Presentation of the Class of 2015 Fellows Jennifer Gassman 00:13:28
Watch Members-Only Video! Remembering David Sackett Steve Goodman 00:08:33
Watch Members-Only Video! Curtis Meinert Lecture - James D. Neaton, PhD
“International Trials and Tribulations”
James Neaton 00:54:06
Watch Members-Only Video! 8th Annual Trial of the Year Award:
Mechanical versus Manual Chest Compression for Out-of-Hospital Cardiac Arrest (PARAMEDIC)
Study Team 00:43:29
Watch Members-Only Video! Founders Lecture - Michael S. Lauer, MD
"A Future for Clinical Trials? An NIH Perspective”
Michael Lauer 00:52:29
Watch Members-Only Video! Workshop P13 (Link to files)
"Conducting Valid Trials: the Critical (and Misunderstood) Roles of Randomization and Complete Follow-Up"
  • 00:00:15 - Opening Remarks
  • 00:02:48 - Conducting Valid Trials
  • 00:28:00 - Causation
  • 01:09:31 - Incomplete Adherence
  • 01:40:00 - Summary
Cook et al 01:44:10


Click here to review the complete 2015 pre-conference workshop schedule

Topic Contributed Paper Sessions

Contributed Paper Sessions


  • Coming soon...

Invited Sessions

Chalmers Student Scholarship

Sylvan Green Award

Thank you to the 2015 Program Committee for making the 36th Annual Meeting a huge success:
Kaleab Abebe
Suzanne Breeman
Marianne Kearney Chase
Christopher Coffey
Liza Dawson
Valerie Durkalski
William E. Elgie
Ryan Ferguson
Ken Kobayashi
Beverly Koski
Sumithra J. Mandrekar
William J. Meurer
Kristine M. Nelson
Letitia H. Perdue
Pamela A. Shaw
Rui Tang
Paul A. Thompson
Marc Walton
Kevin Wilson
Chair: Domenic J. Reda
Co-Chair: Leslie Ain McClure

Thank you to the 2015 Education Committee for making the 36th Annual Meeting a huge success:
Kousick Biswas
Lynda Constable
Thomas Cook
Emily Van Meter Dressler
Dixie Ecklund
Suzanne Firrell
Virginia J. Howard
Sumithra J. Mandrekar
Oscar Moreno
Domenic J. Reda
Yves D. Rosenberg
Chair: Paul G. Wakim
Co-Chair: Li Chen

Thank you to our generous SCT Corporate Sponsors for the period May 2014 - April 2015:
Frontier Science & Technology Research Foundation, Inc.
Janssen Research & Development, LLC
Merck & Co.
Statistics Collaborative, Inc.
The EMMES Corporation
The George Washington University Biostatistics Center
The Jaeb Center for Health Research

Thank you to the 2015 Exhibitors for supporting the 36th Annual Meeting:
Clinical Conductor CTMS
CRC Press / Taylor & Francis Group
Springer / Birkhauser
Technical Frontiers, Inc.

Click here for information on Exhibitors at the SCT Annual Meeting »


SCT Newsletter

SCT Newsletter Current Issue (vol 30.4):
President's Corner, Workshops, Seminars, Committee Updates, Webinars, Annual Meeting Promotion, Upcoming Events and more...
  Download Apr 2019 Issue »

David Sackett Trial of the Year

SCT Trial of the Year Award
12th Annual Award (2018)
Click for more details on this year's recipient award winner, the SCOT Trial!
Read Full Press Release »

SCT Brochure

SCT Newsletter Society for Clinical Trials
An international professional organization dedicated to the theory and practice of clinical trials.
 Download Brochure »